Library Guides: 1L & New Student Survival Guide: Study Aids

Introduction to Study Aids

Study aids (also referred to as supplements) are commercially produced resources that are designed to assist you in your law school learning. You can use study aids as explanatory material to get background and context on a legal topic, or to clarify confusion. You can also use study aids is to assess your knowledge and understanding of a topic, and test your ability to apply your knowledge. There are a variety of categories of study aids and each category is designed to help you in different ways.

This page contains information on the study aids that the Law Library has purchased for your use. Use the subtabs to locate information on accessing the library's study aids, information on the different categories of study aids, and when to use them throughout the semester.

Questions?

Contact csl-ref@cua.edu.

Online Study Aids Finder
This resource lists library study aids by topic.

Digital Study Aids

The law library subscribes to three electronic study aid platforms, West Academic (WA), Aspen Publishing (AP), and Lexis Digital (LD)

West Academic

Over twenty study aid series including audio books, lectures and interactive multiple-choice questions (Exam Pro objective) as well as academic and career success books.
Create a West Academic login and a VitalSource account to download titles, highlight, take notes, print, save favorites, access interactive questions, and use the VitalSource read aloud feature.
Download the VitalSource app for offline reading. Download the West Academic Audio app for offline listening.

How Do I Access?

Click the link below to access using your CUA login.
Create a West Academic login to access directly, and to download titles, highlight, take notes, and save favorites.
Also available from within Barbri Mastery. Click the applicable link below to learn more and enroll in Barbri Mastery.

West Academic Study Aids This link opens in a new window

West Academic - Offline Reading and Listening
BARBRI 1L Success (Barbri Mastery) Enroll to receive access to detailed outlines, final exam review lectures, and multiple-choice + essay practice questions for all 1L subjects. Students can also access the Law Library’s subscription to West Academic Study Aids from within Barbri Mastery. Access after enrollment at www.barbri.com and in the Barbri Mobile App. Barbri Mastery is provided by the Office of Academic Affairs.
Barbri 2L/3L Success (Barbri Mastery) Enroll to receive access to detailed outlines, final exam review lectures, and multiple-choice + essay practice questions for corporations, criminal procedure, evidence, family law, and more. Students can also access the Law Library’s subscription to West Academic Study Aids from within Barbri Mastery. Access after enrollment at www.barbri.com and in the Barbri Mobile App. Barbri Mastery is provided by the Office of Academic Affairs.

Aspen Publishing (AP)

Eight study aid series including audio and video series In Other Words and Aspen Aloud.
Create an AP login to download titles, highlight, take notes, and access text-to-speech for all titles.
Download your preferred Aspen Learning Library app for offline reading and listening (PC, Mac, Android, and iOS).
- To login to an app, select Remote Login and enter your AP credentials, OR select OpenAthens, choose Catholic University DuFour Law Library and enter your CUA credentials.

How Do I Access?

Bookmark the Law Library's Aspen Study Aids link below to access using your CUA login.
Create an AP account to download titles, highlight, and take notes. You must use the Law Library's Aspen Study Aids link below to create an AP account.

Aspen Study Aids This link opens in a new window

Aspen Apps
To login to an app, select Remote Login and enter your AP credentials, OR select OpenAthens and enter your CUA credentials.
Aspen Login Support

Lexis Digital Library

What Can I Find on Lexis Digital Library?

Two study aids series: Questions & Answers and Understanding. Select Browse Library to easily locate both series.
Primary and secondary materials for DC, MD, and VA, and major treatises such as Moore's Federal Practice and Corbin on Contracts.

What Features Are Available?

Download titles, highlight, annotate, export annotations, print, and create tags. Your homepage automatically saves opened books and annotations for easy access.
Download the Lexis Digital app on your phone or tablet to read books offline. The first time you use the app, you need to enter this code: catholiclaw

How Do I Access?

Bookmark the link below. Login using your CUA login.

LexisNexis Study Aids and Digital Library This link opens in a new window

Lexis Digital - Offline Reading

Print Study Aids

Aspen Student Treatise Series
These titles are available only in print. The titles in this series are meant to supplement your casebook by helping you to focus on the essentials of each subject. Coverage of each topic is comprehensive, with clear descriptions and analyses. Located at the Circulation Desk for in-library use.

Print editions for some online series are available for in-library use at the Circulation Desk. First year subjects for the following series are available: Acing Series, Emanuel Law Outlines, Examples and Explanations, Hornbook Treatises, Questions & Answers, Short & Happy Guides, and Understanding Series.

Print editions for 2L and 3L subjects for some series are available in the library stacks for checkout. Search the online catalog or ask a librarian for assistance. Please note: some of the editions in the stacks are not current.

Law Library Catalog

Audio and Video Study Aids

Aspen

All Aspen study aids have text-to-speech capability. To access, click the text-to-speech icon (upper right menu bar) while reading any title online.

Aspen Aloud Series
A series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas. Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
In Other Words Audio Series
From Aspen, this series covers fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. Listen online, or download the Aspen Learning app for offline listening.
In Other Words Video Series
From Aspen, this series covers fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner.

West Academic

Audio

All West Academic study aids have text-to-speech capability. To access, login using your West Academic password and select Open in RedShelf eReader.

Listen to the following series online, or download the West Academic Audio app for offline listening.

Law School Legends Audio Series
From West Academic, this series features renowned law school professors explaining entire subjects in one concise lecture. Each lecture covers the important concepts for each subject, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam.
Office Hours
From West Study Aids, this series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students.
Sum & Substance Audio Lectures
From West Academic, this series presents the essentials of each subject in a clear, time-saving format. Includes quick reference indexing, allowing you to quickly locate all topics in the recording, and informed exam tips to help maximize your performance.
West Academic Audio Books
West Academic audio books are available for select High Court Case Summaries and Short & Happy Guides.

Video

West has several video titles (see link below). You must login using your West Academic account to view videos.

West Academic Videos

Study Aids Keyed to Casebooks

West Academic

High Court Case Summaries
Select titles available as audio books. To locate audio, select Type under Filter Results and select Audio.

Aspen (AP)

Casenote Legal Briefs and Emanuel Law Outlines have titles which are keyed to casebooks. Filter by series to locate titles in each series.

Study Aids by Category

Key to abbreviations used below:

LD: Lexis Digital Library
WA: West Academic Online Study Aids
AP: Aspen Publishing Online Study Aids
P: Print only

Study Aid Category

Series

Overviews

These titles provide a concise narrative explanation of the major doctrines in each substantive area of law, and offer a good introduction to key concepts and legal terminology.

Inside series (AP)

Jumpstart (AP)

Nutshells (WA)

Short & Happy Guides (WA)

Case Briefs

Case briefs summarize the law, facts, and analysis of the cases students are assigned in course casebooks. Many are keyed to specific casebooks. Commercial case briefs should not be used as a substitute for reading and briefing assigned cases.

Casenote Legal Briefs (AP)

High Court Case Summaries (WA)

Cold Call Companion (WA)

Outlines

These titles focus on black letter law and legal rules. They often include exam tips and sample questions. Some outlines are keyed to specific casebooks. Commercial outlines are not a substitute for creating your own outline.

Black Letter Outlines (WA)

Emanuel Law Outlines (AP)

Gilbert Law Summaries (WA)

Quick Reviews (WA)

Treatises

These series provide comprehensive explanation and analysis. They are more detailed than other types of study aids. These are good resources when you need better understanding of specific concepts.

Aspen Student Treatise series (P)

Concise Hornbooks (WA)

Concepts & Insights (WA)

Examples & Explanations (AP)

Hornbooks (WA)

Understanding series (LD)

Problem-Based

These series include problems/ questions and model answers relating to the area of law being discussed. These are good for exam preparation. Visit the Exam Prep page for more information on each series.

Acing series (WA)

Emanuel Crunchtime (AP)

Exam Pro (WA)

Examples & Explanations (AP)

Friedman's Practice Series (AP)

Glannon Guides (AP)

Questions and Answers (LD)

Step-by-Step (WA)

Study Aids by Timing

Key to abbreviations used below:

LD: Lexis Digital Library
WA: West Academic Online Study Aids
AP: Aspen Publishing Online Study Aids
P: Print only

Timing

Series

Early Semester

Case Briefs
Treatises

Use treatises to get a better understanding of key concepts.

High Court Case Summaries (WA)

Casenote Legal Briefs (AP)

Aspen Student Treatise series (P)

Concise Hornbooks (WA)

Concepts & Insights (WA)

Examples & Explanations (AP)

Hornbooks (WA)

Understanding series (LD)

Mid Semester

Outlines
Overviews

Emanuel Law Outlines (AP)

Black Letter Outlines (WA)

Gilbert Law Summaries (WA)

Quick Reviews (WA)

Nutshells (WA)

Short & Happy Guides (WA)

Inside series (AP)

Jumpstart (AP)

Late Semester and Exam Time

Problem-based
Audio and Video

Acing series (WA)

Exam Pro (WA)

Emanuel Crunchtime (AP)

Examples & Explanations (AP)

Friedman's Practice Series (AP)

Glannon Guides (AP)

Questions and Answers (LD)

Step-by-Step (WA)

Law School Legends (WA)

Sum and Substance (WA)

Office Hours (WA)

In Other Words Audio (AP)

In Other Words Video (AP)

Aspen Aloud Series (AP)

Summer - Prepare to Practice

Bridge to Practice (WA)

Developing Professional Skills (WA)