Circulation / Interlibrary Loan
csl-circ@cua.edu
Reference / Research
csl-ref@cua.edu
202-319-6284
Printing / Technology
davidson@law.edu
202-319-6206
Access to the law library is controlled by your CUA ID. Hold your ID in front of the card scanner outside the law library to enter.
The materials on this page will help orient you to the library, its collections, and its services. This guide includes information about getting ready for class, getting online, and getting the most out of the library resources during your first days and weeks in law school. We're here to help so please don't hesitate to ask us if you have any questions.
The services and resources of the Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library are dedicated to helping you make the transformation from student to lawyer. The Library offers an array of hands-on opportunities to gain exposure to the legal research databases and print services employed by law firms, government agencies, and non-profits around the country, thereby ensuring you are equipped with the essential research skills needed to make you practice ready. The personal level of service offered by the Library staff focuses on providing a welcoming and supportive environment that fosters learning. Your curricular and research library needs are supported by an experienced, professional staff who are committed to assisting you throughout your legal education. The Library recognizes a special commitment to student scholarship, a proud tradition of CUA Law, and an unparalleled advantage for our students and alumni.
Westlaw/TWEN: A registration code for Westlaw/TWEN will be included in an email sent to all 1Ls during orientation. Once you have registered you will be able to access the Westlaw legal research database. The same password will also provide you with access to TWEN (The West Educational Network), the course management system used by your faculty. TWEN is similar to Blackboard and other course management systems used in higher education around the country, but is designed specifically for legal education.
Please note, your faculty might post reading assignments in advance of the first day of class, so be sure you can access TWEN by the end of orientation.
Lexis+: A site code for Lexis+ will be included in an email sent to all 1Ls during orientation. The Lexis+ site code is also available on the Law Library TWEN site. Once you have created your own account you will be able to access the Lexis+ legal research database.
If you do not receive an email containing your Westlaw/TWEN and Lexis+ information during orientation please contact the Reference Department at csl-ref@cua.edu.
Westlaw contains legal and law-related documents, including federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, administrative rulings, legislative histories, legal newspapers and journals, and general news. This database is available only to current CUA Law students, faculty and staff.
Lexis contains legal and law-related documents, including federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, administrative rulings, legislative histories, legal newspapers and journals, and looseleaf services. This database is available only to current CUA Law students, faculty and staff.