Skip to Main Content
The Catholic University of America
Law School Home Law Library Home Law Library Catalog Databases Study Rooms

We are currently updating the links to our databases to improve access. Please contact csl-ref@cua.edu if you encounter any issues.

Student Services

Summer & Post-Graduation Access to Research Databases

Law Library Research Databases

Rising students continue to have uninterrupted off-campus access to the Law Library's research databases during the summer (login using your CUA user name and password). 

Recent graduates retain access to our databases (on and off-campus) through July 31 of each year. Unfortunately, due to licensing agreements, we are unable to provide graduating students with off-campus access to the law library's research databases past July 31.  As law alumni, graduating students are able to access many of the law libraries databases from on campus.  Information specific to Lexis+ and Westlaw is outlined below.


Lexis+

Continuing students with a registered Lexis+ ID automatically have full access to Lexis+ for any purpose (educational or commercial) over the summer.

Graduating students have continued access to Lexis upon graduation to keep their skills up to date and use for job and interview preparation. The Graduate Program gives extended access to Lexis+ to spring graduates via their law school IDs through December 31st. The transition from a regular law school ID to a graduate ID will happen on July 1st, 2024.

Graduates who are employed in public interest work have free access to components of Lexis+ for 12 months following graduation.  In order to receive this, graduates must apply for the ASPIRE program (see link below).


Westlaw

Continuing students are automatically enrolled in summer use. You may use Thomson Reuters products, including Westlaw® and Practical Law, over the summer for non-commercial research only. For example, school-related work or for school credit, law review and journal, moot court, research assistant positions, and unpaid internships / externships.

Graduating students have access to Thomson Reuters products, including Westlaw and Practical Law, for 6 months after graduation if they have signed up for "Grad Elite" status. Your “Grad Elite” status gives you 60-hours of usage on these products per month. While you cannot use your Grad Elite access in situations where you are billing a client, you can use these tools to build your knowledge of the law and prepare for your bar exam. You must opt in for Grad Elite status. Click the link below to opt in.


University Library Databases

Rising students continue to have uninterrupted off-campus access to most of the CUA University Library's research databases during the summer (login with your University network credentials).  Graduating students do not have remote access to most CUA library electronic subscriptions. However, a select few vendors do allow alumni access from off campus.  More information may be found at the University Library's alumni site linked below.


Useful Links