Library Information

The following rules are intended to ensure that the Law Library maintains a quiet, pleasant, and clean study environment. Abiding by these rules and regulations will also ensure that all material in the library is accessible. The full cooperation of all library users is required to achieve these goals.

• Verbal or physical conduct that creates an intimidating or offensive work environment for other patrons or staff is not permitted.
• Verbal or physical conduct that interferes with a Law Library employee's ability to perform his/her job is not permitted.
• Law Library computers and wireless network may not be used for viewing, sending or making available offensive or explicit materials. This includes materials which would tend to create a hostile environment.
• Law Library computing resources may not be used for personal commercial purposes.
• Silence should be maintained in the Law Library’s designated silent areas (on all 3 floors, the area after the restrooms on the side of the building that faces the Pryz).
• Phone conversations are permitted only in the hallway between Circulation and Reference on the main floor of the Law Library.
• Please silence your electronic devices when you are in the Law Library.
• The Law Library is not responsible for materials left unattended. Do not leave personal belongings unattended at any time. Law Library materials and/or personal belongings may not be kept on carrels or tables overnight.
• Food is prohibited at all times. Beverages are permitted in closed containers only.
• Smoking and chewing tobacco are prohibited at all times. Smoking is defined as inhaling, exhaling, burning or heating any tobacco, plant, vapor or other substance intended for inhalation by any method, including but not limited to cigars, cigarettes, pipes, hookahs or electronic smoking devices such as e-cigarettes or vapes.
• The staff of the library has taken steps to ensure that only Catholic University faculty, students, and other authorized users are admitted to the Law Library. The Law Library reserves the right to request identification from any person at any time.

Who May Borrow Materials?

• Catholic University of America Law students, faculty, and staff
• Catholic University of America Law alumni
• Catholic University of America students, faculty, and staff

Loan Periods

CUA Law students and Law staff

• Stacks: 1 month, 2 renewals allowed
• Reserves: 3 hours, 1 renewal allowed
• Academic Skills and Bar Prep Collection (Reference): 1 week, 1 renewal allowed
• Legal Fiction and Film (Reference): 3 weeks, 1 renewal allowed
• Forthcoming - Faculty Writing Collection (Clark Reading Room): 1 week, 1 renewal allowed

CUA Law faculty

• Stacks: 1 year, 1 renewal allowed
• Reserves: 1 week, 1 renewal allowed
• Academic Skills and Bar Prep Collection (Reference): 1 week, 1 renewal allowed
• Legal Fiction and Film (Reference): 3 weeks, 1 renewal allowed
• Forthcoming - Faculty Writing Collection (Clark Reading Room): 1 week, 1 renewal allowed

CUA Law alumni

• Stacks: 1 month, 2 renewals allowed
• Reserves: 3 hours, 1 renewal allowed
• Academic Skills and Bar Prep Collection (Reference): 1 week, 1 renewal allowed
• Legal Fiction and Film (Reference): 3 weeks, 1 renewal allowed

CUA non-law students, faculty, staff

• Stacks: 1 month, 1 renewal allowed
• Reserves: 3 hours, 1 renewal allowed

Non-circulating Collections

• CCLS (Columbus Community Legal Services)
• Clark Reading Room (with the exception of the Faculty Writing Collection)
• Government Documents Collection
• Microforms
• Main Floor
• Compact Shelving
• Reference