Library Guides: Library Publications: Bibliographies

Faculty Scholarship Bibliographies

Cumulative Bibliography of Current Faculty Scholarship

A Bibliography of Faculty Scholarship (current full-time, emeritus, and retired law faculty) The purpose of this bibliography is to record in one place the substantial body of scholarship produced by the current faculty at the Catholic University, Columbus School of Law. From its humble beginnings under the tutelage of founding Dean William Callyhan Robinson, through its adolescent period when, like so many other American law schools, it was trying to define its pedagogical niche, to its eventual merger with the Columbus University Law School in 1954, the law school at Catholic University has always retained a scholarly and remarkably productive faculty. The sheer quantity of writing, the breadth of research and the impressive list of law journals that include our faculty among their authors are exemplary. The publishing houses which regularly engage our faculty as authors are likewise impressive. One can certainly appreciate why the Columbus School of Law has been, and continues to be, a leader among law schools in scholarly research and writing. This bibliography is updated regularly to reflect any new publications by Law School faculty and any changes in faculty personnel.

Annual Compilations of Faculty Scholarship

Faculty Scholarship 2023 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2023.
Faculty Scholarship 2022 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2022.
Faculty Scholarship 2020/21 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2020-21.
Faculty Scholarship 2019 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2019.
Faculty Scholarship 2018 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2018.
Faculty Scholarship 2017 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2017.
Faculty Scholarship 2016 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2016.
Faculty Scholarship 2015 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2015.
Faculty Scholarship 2014 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2014.
Faculty Scholarship 2013 A compilation of the scholarly works authored by the faculty of the Columbus School of Law in 2013.

Historical Bibliographies of Faculty Scholarship

Faculty Bibliography 2004-2010 A compilation of the scholarly works of the Law School faculty during the period 2004-2010.
Faculty Bibliography 2004 A compilation of the scholarship of the Law School Faculty. This compilation contains scholarship produced by faculty up to and including 2004.
A Century of Scholarship: Faculty Publications 1897-1997 This bibliography collects citations to faculty publications from the early beginnings of The Catholic University Law School through its later reincarnation as the Columbus School of Law of The Catholic University of America.

The Catholic Dimensions of Legal Study

In 1998 the United States Catholic Bishops challenged Catholic schools at all levels to “integrate Catholic social teaching into the mainstream of all Catholic educational institutions and programs.” (National Conference of Catholic Bishops, Sharing Catholic Social Teaching: Challenges and Directions, 1998). In its call to action, the bishops urged that Catholic schools “ensure that every Catholic understands how the Gospel and church teaching call us to choose life, to serve the least among us, to hunger and thirst for justice, and to be peacemakers.”

While the document did not directly address Catholic law schools, it is clear that the legal academy plays a unique and vital role in imparting the Church’s social justice tradition. Law teachers, law students, and lawyers are, by the very nature of their profession, inextricably involved in the creation and implementation of public policy. The study and teaching of law provides an ideal context in which to reflect on their role in “breaking down the barriers that obstruct God’s kingdom of justice and peace.” The years of law school study provide the student with a special opportunity to not only learn the law, but to discover how the law is enriched by an understanding of the Church’s social message. The role and responsibility of the law teacher takes on an added urgency in the light of the Bishops’ words that the “sharing of our social tradition is a defining measure of Catholic education and formation.”

This bibliography served as the Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library's response to the bishop’s call for action. It sought to identify and describe Catholic resources useful for law teachers, law students and practicing attorneys who are seeking to integrate their faith commitment into a life in the law. The bibliography included print books, chapters and articles, as well as internet sites and electronic documents. Two print editions of the bibliography were published over a two year period by the staff of the Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library; the first in 2002, followed by the second edition in 2004. A third, digital edition, was released in 2012. Unfortunately, a final version of the third edition is no longer available, however a downloaded copy of a draft version is available below.