Conflict of Laws

Provides the current law and practice of capital punishment for every country that retains it.

A great database for environmental legislation on many topics. Try the advanced search option for targeted research.

A subset of ECOLEX, with laws regarding food, agriculture and the environment.

A joint project of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund.

A collection of human rights and fair elections laws of the OSCE countries.

The International Red Cross Committee maintains this database that contains national laws implementing international human rights principles.

From the International Labour Organization (ILO). Covers labor law, social security, and related human rights legislation.

Presented by the World Intellectual Property Organization, this site includes national laws and treaty agreements, plus commentary.

A project of the World Bank, this site collects laws from 173 countries regarding women’s economic status, including equal pay and property rights.

From the start page on Westlaw, you can link to International Materials. Content is organized by country, and primary sources for foreign law are limited to common law jurisdictions including Australia, Barbados, Canada, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong, Korea and the United Kingdom.

Lexis+ has a broader collection of materials than Westlaw, including primary materials from Canada, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Mexico, Russia, South Africa and the United Kingdom. You can find the materials by clicking on the International tab of the Explore Content box on the Lexis+ home page.

This site is maintained by several regional legal information institutes, providing access to legislation and court decisions for specific countries, as well as treaties and other international law materials.

A comprehensive source that covers most countries of the world.

A web publication with links to hundreds of guides on researching international, comparative and foreign law. Country-by-country guides are available for over 150 jurisdictions, and are updated frequently.

A portal to databases with national legislation from the European Union countries. A guided search form is available, along with translation tools.