Skip to Main Content
The Catholic University of America
Law School Home Law Library Home Law Library Catalog Databases Study Rooms

We are currently updating the links to our databases to improve access. Please contact csl-ref@cua.edu if you encounter any issues.

Student Scholarship

The purpose of this guide is to assist law students with writing and submitting an article for publication.

Cite Checking & Authority Tools

Westlaw Quick Check
This service, located on the homepage of Westlaw Edge, allows users to upload a brief or memo and will then check the citations within the document to make sure they are still good authority.  Additionally, the tool will suggest additional cases or key numbers that have not been included in the document. The report produced by Quick Check is organized according to the headings in the submitted document, thereby providing context for recommended new authority.

Lexis for Microsoft Word
Lexis offers a Word application called Lexis for Microsoft Office. After downloading Lexis for Microsoft Office, it will appear as a tab at the top of the application.  You can cite-check a document for conformance to Bluebook style and the software will flag any citations which do not correspond to a citation in the Lexis database.  In addition, you can run a Shepard’s citation check for all citations in your document in addition to the cite check process. After you’ve reviewed the Shepard’s flags, you can remove the flags from the document prior to submission.  In addition, you can create a table of authorities for your document using Lexis for Microsoft Office. Download this add-on by using the link below, and then enter your Lexis+ username and password. From the next screen, select Windows or Mac versions.

Lexis Brief Analysis
Brief Analysis allows you to upload a document and check up to 600 citations and quotations in briefs, memoranda, pleadings, motions and more. Brief Analysis extracts the citations and quotations from your document and creates a report that contains not only the Shepard’s report for each citation, but also quotation validation reports.To access Brief Analysis simply enter Lexis+ and then select Brief Analysis. 

Shepards BriefLink
Shepard's BriefLink changes citations in your document to live links to Lexis+ materials. Simply upload a document from your desktop or network drive. Next, choose the document type you want emailed, either a Word document or a PDF. Shepard's BriefLink creates a new version of the brief with active links to materials on Lexis+.To access Brieflink simply enter Lexis+ and then select either Brief Check from the pull-down menu  in the upper black toolbar.

Formatting Tools

Law School students have access to a number of useful tools that can help them in compiling bibliographies, organizing references, and generally assist in formatting papers. 

Juris-M (Zotero) is a free tool that is available to download from the Internet.  Juris-M automatically identifies content as a book, an article, a web page, etc, and can then organize these sources and provide BlueBook citations to these sources.  It is specifically designed to work with legal and multilingual resources.

 

Both of the following tools are offered through Mullen Library’s website.

EndNote is powerful reference management software that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, and images. EndNote helps you import references from databases, library catalogs, and websites into a document as you write it and then format your paper according to thousands of styles, including The Bluebook.

RefWorks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.  RefWorks supports The Bluebook. More information on access to RefWorks at CUA is available here.

Of the three tools, Juris-M (Zotero) is probably the most BlueBook friendly.

Useful Books