Library Guides: Government Documents: Guide to Government Information

Catalogs

Law Library Catalog
Most government documents in the library's print and microform collections can be found in the Law Library Catalog. The catalog also contains links to many government documents published online, including Congressional hearings released since January 2010.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
GovInfo
Official GPO site providing access to Executive, Legislative, and Judicial information from the federal government.
MetaLib
Search across multiple federal government databases in a single step.
Gov Docs Finder
The Law Library's Gov Docs Finder is a browsable index to online federal government information. It includes both public websistes and subscription databases available in the Law Library
FDLP Basic Collection
“Publications included in the Basic Collection are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government. The list of titles constituting the Basic Collection was first developed in 1977 to identify the most basic Federal publications for inclusion in all depository collections. This list has been periodically updated since then.”

Congress

House and Senate Reports, and some hearings and committee prints, are available full-text through Proquest Congressional. In addition, the Proquest Congressional database provides detailed access to the library's extensive collection of Congressional documents on microfiche.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing & abstracts and/or full-text of U.S. Congressional documents. Indexing begins with the 1st Congress. The Search by Number feature is especially useful. Full text coverage as follows: Bills from 1989; Hearings from 1980-2010 (some more recent documents also available); United States Serials Set from 1789; the Congressional Record from 1985; Public Laws from 1987. For more information, see Content Coverage Chart
NOTE: If you are having problems accessing ProQuest Congressional, please click here for on-campus access.

Congress.gov
The official website for Congress. Includes legislation dating back to the 93rd Congress (1973-74).
Chart - Sources for Legislative History
This lists the years and formats available for Congressional Hearings (both published and unpublished), and the United States Serial Set online and in microform. Reports and hearings on microfiche (2000-2010) are included in the law library catalog. Online Hearings are also included in the catalog after January 2010.

Executive Agencies

FDsys - Federal Digital System
The GPO's Federal Digital System (Fdsys) provides public access to Government information published by Congress, Federal and Judicial agencies. Fdsys expands and replaces the previous system, called GPO Access. The Fdsys collection includes the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and Congressional Record.
Federal Agencies & Departments
This USA.gov webpage includes links to U.S. Government Departments and Agencies listed alphabetically.
Regulations.gov
Publishes proposed rules, along with public comments that have been submitted pursuant to the notices of rules.

Government Documents

Catalogs

Congress

Executive Agencies

Library Catalog