DuFour Law Library Blog

In 1987, Congress designated March as National Women’s History Month, creating the opportunity to celebrate the vital role of women in American History. Below are just a few resources concerning women in the legal profession.

Books in the Law Library

There is a Women's History Month display in the lobby of the law library. It features titles found within the law library's collection. The display will be available from March 1 - 31.

Women's Legal History Project

This website, hosted by Stanford Law School, contains a "searchable database of articles and papers on pioneering women lawyers in the United States." Also included are web resources and an extensive bibliography of women in the law.

HeinOnline Women and the Law Database

This database "brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights over the past 200 years."

ABA Commission on Women in the Profession (CWP)

As the national voice for women lawyers, the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession forges a new and better profession that ensures that women have equal opportunities for professional growth and advancement commensurate with their male counterparts.

ABA CWP Resources

The Commission serves as a clearinghouse of information relevant to women lawyers, including statistics, articles, reports, research, and organizations.  Learn more about these resources below.

The Law Library's hours for the week of Spring Break (March 9th - March 15th) are as follows:

Sun - Thurs: 10am - 9pm
Fri: CLOSED
Sat: 9am - 5pm

For a complete listing of the Law Library's hours of operation please click here.

With the Law Review Write-On Competition fast approaching (March 7th - March 16th) you might want to take this opportunity to brush up on your legal citation skills.  To help you the staff of the Law Library have put together this guide.  The resources in this guide include interactive citation exercises, citation manuals, as well as links to extensive guides put together by other law schools around the nation.  Students have found the “Lexis Interactive Citation Workstation” particularly helpful.

Good luck in the competition! 

Study Aids are designed to assist in your legal studies by providing explanatory material, giving context on a legal topic, or clarifying  confusion. The Law Library subscribes to three study aid publishers: West Academic, Aspen Publishing, and Lexis Digital Library.

The Law Library maintains the Online Study Aid Finder, containing the most current study aids across all three publishers, and is organized by legal topic, from Administration Law to Trusts and Estates. It's a one stop shop for all the study aids on a specific legal topic.

Also check out the Law Library's charts that break down Study Aids by Category and Study Aids Timing to get a better understanding of the benefits of each type (i.e., treatise, outline, multiple choice, etc.) of study aid and which type of study aid will assist you best during the semester. These charts are located on the Academic Success: Study Aids, Exam Prep, and More LibGuide under the “Study Aids / Supplements” tab.

The Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library celebrates Black History Month with the installation of an exhibit honoring this year's theme, African Americans and Labor. 

A collection of books focused on this year's theme is available in the lobby of the library. The collection includes both physical books and links to electronic resources. Additional books are available via Collections. (link available through February 2025)

For 1Ls and 1Es, the weeks leading up to the Thanksgiving holiday break are traditionally filled with working on the LSP Open Memo assignment.  Whether your fact pattern involves promissory estoppel in Indiana or informed consent in California, you can schedule an appointment for either an in-person or virtual research consultation with a librarian.  To schedule a research consultation just click here.  Reference librarians are usually available Mondays through Fridays 10am-6pm.  

A new database has been added to our HeinOnline collection: “Voting Rights & Election Law”. “Voting Rights & Election Law” is a collection of historical and current content devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote.  This collection focuses on issues relating to and directly about both local and federal elections—including presidential elections, but also encompassing House and Senate elections, as well as state elections. In addition, there are titles about elections around the world.  Subjects include: Absentee Voting, Ballots, Campaign Finance, Election Administration, Election Integrity, Election Outcomes, Election Reform, Electoral College, Federal Election Commission, Gerrymandering, Legislative Redistricting, Political Campaigns, Suffrage, Voter Identification, Voter Registration, and Voting Rights.

You can find the database on the Law Library's Research Database page. 

You may have recently received an email from the New York Times about your complimentary digital subscription.

Did you know that access to nytimes.com is available to all CUA law faculty and students? Students must use their cua.edu email address to login. Faculty must use their law.edu email address to login. To start using, click "login" and then “forgot your password” on nytimes.com. Contact csl-ref@cua.edu with questions.

In response to last semester's Student Survey, the Law Library staff spent time this past summer redesigning our website.  The new look to the site attempts to increase the visibility of the most requested resources and services.  Please let us know if you encounter any issues with the new look or have suggestions for how we can improve it.

If you would like to see how the Law Library's website has changed since it's first iteration in 1997, we have captured it's evolution in this library guide.

In response to last semester's Student Survey, the Law Library has now made available a number of new student spaces.  This includes three new drop-in study rooms (Rooms 323, 324 and 427) which are intended for short study periods.  These rooms are located across from the restrooms on the 3rd and 4th floors respectively and can not be reserved.

The Law Library has also added a student “Zoom Room” (Room 227). The “Zoom Room,” located in the hallway on the second floor, must be reserved and is intended for students who need to conduct a virtual interview or videoconference.  The room comes equipped with a desktop computer, speakers, and a camera, however students may use their own devices.