Skip to main content

Library Services and Instructional Continuity - Students

Law Library Status

The Law Library is closed and staff are working mostly from home.

  • Requests for materials that are not available online:  the library will make every effort to scan or mail materials to you.  Requests will be filled on a case by case basis, depending on the availability of staff and resources.
    Submit requests here.
  • Interlibrary Loan: the library will make every effort to borrow materials for you, depending on availability of resources at other libraries, and the availability of our own staff.
    Request an ILL

Please see the Library Services for Students box below for more information.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by these restrictions, which are necessary in order for us to support the University’s latest COVID-19 guidance, including the decision to move classes online effective March 18th.

We appreciate your patience as we translate the University’s latest guidelines into Law Library procedures. This guide provides information on how the Law Library is responding to the current situation and how we are continuing to support the curricular and research needs of the Law School community. Law students, faculty and staff should continue to check the Law School and Law Library websites for further updates.

Library Services for Students

Questions about TWEN
Please use email initially. M-F from 10am - 6pm, expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet can be arranged.
youngs@cua.edu or martinezkr@cua.edu

Questions about Panopto
Please use email initially. M-F from 10am  - 6pm, expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet can be arranged.
stack@cua.edu

Questions about Google Meet
Please use email initially. M-F from 10am - 6pm, expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet can be arranged.
davidson@cua.edu

Research/Reference
Please use email initially. M-F from 10am - 6pm, expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet can be arranged.
csl-ref@cua.edu

Graded Exams
Since the Law Library is closed, these are no longer available in person to students. Students wishing to see a graded exam must contact their faculty member.

Circulation
Please use email initially. M-F from 10am - 6pm, expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet can be arranged.
csl-circ@cua.edu

Interlibrary Loan
The library will make every effort to borrow materials for you, depending on availability of resources at other libraries, and the availability of our own staff.
Request an ILL
Questions: csl-circ@cua.edu

Physical materials that are not available online
The library will make every effort to make these materials available to you.  Requests will be considered on a case by case basis, depending on the availability of staff and resources.
Submit requests here.

 

Printer Access

From CUA Technology Services:

The Leahy lab (117) remains open 24/7, though we are removing every other machine to space individuals out. This will leave about 25-30 machines for open use.
 
CUA Technology Services
24x7 Support
Website: techsupport.cua.edu
Email: techsupport@cua.edu
Phone: 202-319-4357 (-HELP)

Zoom

From Zoom, in response to the Coronavirus:

Advanced capabilities now available with a free license

With a free Zoom Meetings license, users have access to all the audio and video conferencing and group collaboration features needed, including:

  • An unlimited number of video meetings with no time limit
  • Breakout rooms
  • Private and group chats 
  • Online support
  • Plus, it’s easy to download and deploy Zoom using our client application or via any web browser, so users can start communicating right away.

It appears that the 40-minute limit has been waived.

You must create a new account using your @cua.edu address to get the advanced features.

After creating an account and confirming your email address, you'll get an email saying that the 40-minute limit apples. Please disregard.

Online Resources

Law Library Databases

The Law Library subscribes to over 35 specialized legal research databases. All databases are available on campus, just enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted. Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, and CALI require an individual password. Contact a reference librarian if you need a password.

To use databases off-campus, you must go through the law library's website. Enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted.

Popular Law Library Databases
National News
All Law Library Databases
Catholic University‚Äč Library Databases
Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155