Skip to main content

Library Services and Instructional Continuity - Faculty

Law Library Status

The Law Library is closed and staff are working primarily from home.

  • Requests for materials that are not available online:  these will be considered on a case by case basis, depending on the availability of staff and resources.
    Submit requests here.
  • Interlibrary Loan: the library will make every effort to borrow materials for you, depending on availability of resources at other libraries, and the availability of our own staff.
    Request an ILL

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by these restrictions, which are necessary in order for us to support the University’s latest COVID-19 guidance.

We appreciate your patience as we translate the University’s latest guidelines into Law Library procedures. This guide provides information on how the Law Library is responding to the current situation and how we are continuing to support the curricular and research needs of the Law School community. Law students, faculty and staff should continue to check the Law School and Law Library websites for further updates.

Library Services

Questions about TWEN
Please use email initially. M-Th from 10am - 6pm, Fridays 9am-Noon. Expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet/Zoom can be arranged.
youngs@cua.edu or martinezkr@cua.edu

Questions about Panopto
Please use email initially. M-F from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet/Zoom can be arranged.
csl-av@cua.edu

Questions about Zoom
Please use email initially. M-F from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet/Zoom can be arranged.
csl-av@cua.edu

Questions about Google Meet
Please use email initially. M-F from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet/Zoom can be arranged.
csl-av@cua.edu

Research/Reference
Please use email initially. M-Th from 10am - 6pm, Fridays 9am-Noon. Expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet/Zoom can be arranged.
csl-ref@law.edu

Circulation
Please use email initially. M-Th from 10am - 6pm, Fridays 9am-Noon. Expect a response within 90 minutes. Telephone and/or Google Meet /Zoom can be arranged.
csl-circ@cua.edu

Past Exams
Past exams can be loaded into the library catalog for student access if a copy is sent electronically.
Send past exams for the library catalog to brillantine@cua.edu.

Graded Exams
If you or one of your students needs to review a graded exam, please email csl-ref@law.edu

Class Recordings
If you would like to audio record (only) a lecture without using TWEN/Panopto, you must purchase a hand-held recorder.  Recommended models available on Amazon: Sony ICD PX470 ($51)
Sony ICD PX370 ($45)

Classes recorded by Panopto through TWEN should automatically post to the TWEN page.
Questions should be sent to csl-av@cua.edu.

Interlibrary Loan
Send requests to csl-circ@cua.edu.

Books/Materials Purchase
Handled on a case-by-case basis.  Note that University Policy prohibits us from arranging for delivery at any home address.
Contact edinger@law.edu.

CUA Instructional Continuity

The University's instructional continuity site contains a Faculty Instructional Continuity Plan Checklist and, as part of that checklist, a specific Course Instructional Continuity Plan template. This site also includes information on technology support for Instructional Continuity.

Online Resources and Research Databases

The Law Library subscribes to over 35 specialized legal research databases. All databases are available on campus, just enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted. Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, and CALI require an individual password. Contact a reference librarian (see contact information below) if you need a password.

To use databases off-campus, you must go through the law library's website. Enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted.

Popular Databases
National News
All Law Library Databases
Catholic University​ Library Databases
Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155