Skip to main content

Library Services and Instructional Continuity - Students

Law Library Status

The Law Library is only open to the Law School community.

Operating hours are posted on the Law Library website.

Please note, certain services are only being offered online, such as Reference and Computer Assistance. In addition, the Law Library is unable to supply laptop chargers, standing desks, earplugs and other office supplies during this time.  We apologize for any inconvenience caused by these restrictions, which are necessary in order for us to support the University’s latest COVID-19 guidance. This guide provides information on how the Law Library is responding to the current situation and how we are continuing to support the curricular and research needs of the Law School community.

Law students, faculty and staff should continue to check the Law School and Law Library websites for further updates. We appreciate your patience as we translate the University’s latest guidelines into Law Library procedures.

Access Policy

In order to comply with District orders and University policies, we ask that you adhere to the following:

  • For the purposes of DC contact tracing, every law student must use their Cardinal Card, with the “LAW” sticker or notation, to access the Law Library.  

  • Please try to limit your time in the library to two hours.

  • Face masks must be worn at all times over the nose and mouth.  This is a campus mandate and a DC regulation.

  • Seats have been arranged/marked for social distancing.  Patrons must sit only in designated seats and may not move signage or furniture.

  • In order to help maintain social distancing, some areas of the Law Library are not accessible to patrons.  These areas include group study rooms, the Reference Room, and the small computer lab on the 3rd floor, among others. 

  • A copier/scanner has been moved to the lobby and another is available on the 3rd floor.  One public computer along with an attached printer is available in the lobby.  In addition, one stand alone printer is located in the lobby which can be connected to through a USB cable.  

  • Certain library services will continue to only be available remotely.  These include Reference and Computer assistance.

  • During the day there will be 1hr breaks in the library schedule for cleaning.  This will require all patrons to vacate the library during this 1hr time frame. 

In addition, all physical materials will be subject to quarantine.  After material is handled by a patron or staff member, it will be unavailable for 4 days even to library staff.  This includes textbooks on reserve, so we do not recommend you rely on these textbooks for your classes.  To illustrate; if a student uses a reserve book on a Tuesday, it will not be available again until the following Monday since the Law Library is currently closed on Saturdays and Sundays.  

Online Resources and Research Databases

The Law Library subscribes to over 35 specialized legal research databases. All databases are available on campus, just enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted. Westlaw Edge, Lexis+, Bloomberg Law, and CALI require an individual password. Contact a reference librarian (see contact information below) if you need a password.

To use databases off-campus, you must go through the law library's website (except for Westlaw Edge, Lexis+, Bloomberg Law, and CALI). Enter your Catholic University user name and password when prompted.

Popular Databases
National News
All Law Library Databases
Catholic University​ Library Databases
Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155