DuFour Law Library Blog - Library Guides at Catholic University of America Law Library

We want to thank everyone who completed the law library’s recent student survey. We received valuable feedback, which will help guide future projects. Library staff are analyzing survey data and will provide results and library response in the next few weeks. In the meantime, we have selected two comments to respond to in this space:

Comment: The computers at the front of the library are very slow.

Response: Three of the lobby PCs have been updated to new machines with solid state hard drives. Speed and login time are significantly improved.

Comment: Reserved books should have a catalog sorting them by the Professors who recommended them.

Response: We do have a catalog for reserve books. On the library home page, select “Reserves / Exams” in the Library Catalog box. Use the drop-down menu to search by professor or by course.

Recent Posts

New Database – HeinOnline Voting Rights & Election Law

A new database has been added to our HeinOnline collection: “Voting Rights & Election Law”. “Voting Rights & Election Law” is a collection of historical and current content devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote. This collection focuses on issues relating to and directly about both local and federal elections—including presidential elections, but also encompassing House and Senate elections, as well as state elections. In addition, there are titles about elections around the world. Subjects include: Absentee Voting, Ballots, Campaign Finance, Election Administration, Election Integrity, Election Outcomes, Election Reform, Electoral College, Federal Election Commission, Gerrymandering, Legislative Redistricting, Political Campaigns, Suffrage, Voter Identification, Voter Registration, and Voting Rights.You can find the database on the Law Library's Research Database page. ...

New York Times Digital Subscription - it's free from the law library

You may have recently received an email from the New York Times about your complimentary digital subscription.Did you know that access to nytimes.com is available to all CUA law faculty and students? Students must use their cua.edu email address to login. Faculty must use their law.edu email address to login. To start using, click "login" and then “forgot your password” on nytimes.com. Contact csl-ref@cua.edu with questions....

A New Look to Our Web Site

In response to last semester's Student Survey, the Law Library staff spent time this past summer redesigning our website. The new look to the site attempts to increase the visibility of the most requested resources and services. Please let us know if you encounter any issues with the new look or have suggestions for how we can improve it.If you would like to see how the Law Library's website has changed since it's first iteration in 1997, we have captured it's evolution in this library guide. ...

New Student Spaces in the Library

In response to last semester's Student Survey, the Law Library has now made available a number of new student spaces. This includes three new drop-in study rooms (Rooms 323, 324 and 427) which are intended for short study periods. These rooms are located across from the restrooms on the 3rd and 4th floors respectively and can not be reserved.The Law Library has also added a student “Zoom Room” (Room 227). The “Zoom Room,” located in the hallway on the second floor, must be reserved and is intended for students who need to conduct a virtual interview or videoconference. The room comes equipped with a desktop computer, speakers, and a camera, however students may use their own devices....