DuFour Law Library Blog - Library Guides at Catholic University of America Law Library

Security Warnings

Clicking on a library database sometimes results in a security warning, such as "your connection is not private," or "your connection is not secure." Please disregard these warnings. It is perfectly safe to connect to all of the library's databases. In Chrome, click "advanced" and then click the "proceed" link. In Firefox, click "advanced" and then click "add exception."

Why Do These Warnings Display?

The warnings you see are due to SSL errors. SSL is standard technology for establishing an encrypted link between a web server and a browser. To create an SSL connection, a web server requires an SSL certificate. Unfortunately, the library's SSL certificate is not communicating properly with the library's server. The library's SSL connection is secure and the certificate is current and correctly configured. The library is exploring several options to correct this issue, but there is no quick fix.

Recent Posts

Open Memo Season

For 1Ls and 1Es, the weeks leading up to the Thanksgiving holiday break are traditionally filled with working on the LSP Open Memo assignment. Whether your fact pattern involves promissory estoppel in Indiana or informed consent in California, you can schedule an appointment for either an in-person or virtual research consultation with a librarian. To schedule a research consultation just click here. Reference librarians are usually available Mondays through Fridays 10am-6pm. ...

New Database – HeinOnline Voting Rights & Election Law

A new database has been added to our HeinOnline collection: “Voting Rights & Election Law”. “Voting Rights & Election Law” is a collection of historical and current content devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote. This collection focuses on issues relating to and directly about both local and federal elections—including presidential elections, but also encompassing House and Senate elections, as well as state elections. In addition, there are titles about elections around the world. Subjects include: Absentee Voting, Ballots, Campaign Finance, Election Administration, Election Integrity, Election Outcomes, Election Reform, Electoral College, Federal Election Commission, Gerrymandering, Legislative Redistricting, Political Campaigns, Suffrage, Voter Identification, Voter Registration, and Voting Rights.You can find the database on the Law Library's Research Database page. ...

New York Times Digital Subscription - it's free from the law library

You may have recently received an email from the New York Times about your complimentary digital subscription.Did you know that access to nytimes.com is available to all CUA law faculty and students? Students must use their cua.edu email address to login. Faculty must use their law.edu email address to login. To start using, click "login" and then “forgot your password” on nytimes.com. Contact csl-ref@cua.edu with questions....

A New Look to Our Web Site

In response to last semester's Student Survey, the Law Library staff spent time this past summer redesigning our website. The new look to the site attempts to increase the visibility of the most requested resources and services. Please let us know if you encounter any issues with the new look or have suggestions for how we can improve it.If you would like to see how the Law Library's website has changed since it's first iteration in 1997, we have captured it's evolution in this library guide. ...

Database Connection Errors

Security Warnings

Why Do These Warnings Display?