Skip to main content

Summer & Post Graduation Access to Legal Databases: Home

This guide provides an overview of how to access WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, Bloomberg Law and the Library's other research databases over the summer. Information is also provided for those who might need database access after graduation.

Bloomberg Law

Your Bloomberg Law account will automatically remain available to you during the summer. You can use your password if you are a Research Assistant, an intern or even a Summer Associate with a law firm or the government.

Password access extension is available to graduating students for six months after graduation. 

Library Databases

Research databases are available on campus and, unless otherwise noted, are also accessible from off campus throughout the year.  Please login with your name & library barcode from your Library Account. Off-campus access is limited to current CSL students and faculty.  Students who graduate have permanent access to most research databases from on campus, but unfortunately off campus access is restricted to current students.  More information on access to Law Library databases for CUA Law alumni is available using the link below.

Mullen Databases are available to CUA Law students from off campus by entering your 7-digit student ID number, your name, and then selecting "Catholic" from the drop down list of institutions. 

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance offers unrestricted summer access to all law students.  This means that 1Ls and 2Ls (as well as 1-3Es) can use their current IDs for unlimited access to any legal and news sources available under our educational contract even if they are working at a firm or for the government. 

If you are graduating, you can register for a Graduate Program ID.  This ID will enable you to use Lexis Advance until December 31st.  

Westlaw/TWEN

Password extension is being offered by Westlaw if you are enrolled in law school summer classes or in a study abroad law program. You may also request a password extension if you are a research assistant; a member of a law journal editorial board; or you are participating in an unpaid internship/externship. 

Post-graduation ("Grad Elite") password extensions may be requested by graduating students.  Eligible graduating students receive 60 hours of access per month for 6 months.  In addition all graduating students have limited access to career related content on Westlaw for 18 months after graduation.

Extending your Westlaw password will also provide you with access to TWEN.

Research Services

Research Services's picture
Research Services
Phone:
202-319-6284

Additional Information for Alumni

Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155