Skip to main content

Academic Skills: Study Aids, Exam Prep, and More

This guide contains information on resources to help you with coursework, exam preparation, and to succeed in law school.

Legal Writing & Analysis

The Law Library has a wide variety of books to help you with legal writing and analysis. A few suggestions are below. All are located in the Reference Room unless otherwise noted. Linked titles are available online in full-text through West Academic Study Aids.

Browse for more legal writing and analysis books in the Reference Room at call number KF 250.

Legal Citation

The following are at the Circulation Desk unless otherwise noted. Linked titles are available online in full-text through West Academic Study Aids.

Citation Tools

Law School students have access to a number of useful tools that can help them in compiling bibliographies, organizing references, and generally assist in formatting papers. 

Zotero is a free tool that is available to download from the Internet.  Zotero automatically identifies content as a book, an article, a web page, etc, and can then organize these sources and provide BlueBook citations to these sources.  The BlueBook citation style has to be separately downloaded to Zotero.   

Both of the following tools are offered through Mullen Library’s website.

EndNote is powerful reference management software that collects, stores and organizes references for books, journal articles, and images. EndNote helps you import references from databases, library catalogs, and websites into a document as you write it and then format your paper according to thousands of styles, including The Bluebook.


RefWorks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.  RefWorks supports The Bluebook. More information on access to RefWorks at CUA is available here.

Of the three tools, Zotero is probably the most BlueBook friendly.

Library Guides

Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155