Professional reference librarians are available in the Reference Room during the hours listed below. Reference Librarians have the knowledge and experience to help you with all of your information and research needs. Reference Librarians can:
|Monday - Thursday||9am - 7pm|
|Friday||9am - 5pm|
|Sunday||Noon - 8pm|
*Hours change for holidays, summer, and intersession. Sunday reference is available only during fall and spring semesters.
The law library subscribes to over 35 specialized legal research databases. All databases are available on campus (you must be connected to CUALAW-Wireless to use databases on your laptop). Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, and CALI require an individual password. Contact a reference librarian if you need a password.
Off-campus access is available using your last name and law library barcode (located on the back of your CUA I.D.).
Law Library Research Databases
Rising students continue to have uninterrupted off-campus access to most of the Law Library's research databases during the summer (login with your name & library barcode from your Library Account). Unfortunately, due to licensing agreements, we are unable to provide graduating students with off-campus access to many of the research databases. However as alumni, graduating students are able to access many of the databases from on campus. Information specific to Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance and Westlaw is outlined below.
Your Bloomberg Law account will automatically remain available to you during the summer. You can use your password if you are a Research Assistant, an intern or even a Summer Associate with a law firm or the government. Password access extension is available to graduating students for six months after graduation.
Continuing students with a registered Lexis Advance ID automatically have full access to Lexis Advance for any purpose (educational or commercial) over the summer.
Graduating students with a registered Lexis Advance ID automatically will have full access to Lexis Advance through the end of the calendar year for educational, bar review, and job search purposes. Graduating students’ view of the Lexis Home Page will switch from their current view to the graduate view. Alternatively, graduating students doing public interest work may be eligible for Lexis' ASPIRE program.
In order to have full access to Westlaw over the summer, continuing students will need to extend their passwords. Summer password extension is available only if a student is using the database for:
Students who do not register for extended summer access will only receive 60 hours of access per month in June and July and full access in August.
University Library Databases
Rising students continue to have uninterrupted off-campus access to most of the CUA University Library's research databases during the summer (login with your University network credentials). Graduating students do not have remote access to most CUA library electronic subscriptions. However, a select few vendors do allow alumni access from off campus. More information may be found at the University Library's alumni site linked below.