Skip to main content

Law Journal Staff: A Research & Policy Guide

A guide for staff members of the Catholic University Law Review and the Catholic University Journal of Law & Technology. The guide provides some tips for source collection and outlines some of the library's policies applicable to the journals.

Finding Congressional Docs

Most, but not all, Congressional documents are available in a citable form through the various online, microform (located on the 3rd floor), and hard-copy resources of the Law Library.

The majority of recent (1995 - present) publications can be obtained full-text in pdf, citable form from the FDsys website.  Please note that very recent material may not be available yet.  The Congress.gov website is a very useful index to Congressional material from 1989 to the present, and can be used to help identify a congressional document prior to retrieving it on the FDsys website.

The Law Library subscribes to ProQuest Congressional, a database that indexes Congressional material dating back to the 1st Congress (1789). ProQuest Congressional also provides access to full text, pdf, citable versions of certain Congressional documents. 

The table to the right provides a simplistic overview of the available sources for citable versions of select Congressional documents.  This table does NOT represent all Congressional material available through the Law Library, nor does it account for variations in coverage between sessions of Congress.

Congressional Content

 

Microform

ProQuest Congressional

FDsys

Committee Reports

1817-2016

1789-1969

1995-Present

Committee Hearings

1865-2016

 

1980-Varies

1995-Present

Committee Prints

1830-2016

X

1997-Present

Congressional Record

1873-Present

X

1994-Present

Congressional Bills

1979-Present

1989-Present

1993-Present

Additional Resources

The following library guides provide additional information which may be helpful when researching Congressional information.

Judge Kathryn J. DuFour Law Library / 3600 John McCormack Road N.E., Washington, DC 20064 / 202-319-5155