All books are located in the Reference Room and can be checked out for 1 week with 1 renewal. Linked titles are available online in full-text through West Academic Study Aids.
1000 Days to the Bar, but the Practice of Law Begins Now by
1000 Days provides hundreds of practical tips to help law students make every day in law school serve as a small, but essential step in the direction of the successful practice of law. From class preparation, to notetaking, to studying for exams, this book offers valuable material in a crisp, readable style, all in an effort to help law students perform at their personal best—both in school and beyond. New to the Third Edition: The third edition of 1000 Days to the Bar contains more than 12 years of updates within every chapter. In addition, it features a brand-new FAQ section that contains more than 90 entries! The updated book is designed to help current and future law students make the most of their law program—and their careers.
Acing the Bar Exam by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam — from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Advanced Legal Analysis and Strategies for Bar Preparation by 
The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by
This book details the entire bar preparation process from getting a "head start" during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. Each component of the bar exam is examined through examples and detailed analysis of sample answers.
Bar Exam Success: A Comprehensive Guide by
Includes audio. This book is written from the perspective of a bar mentor, your “trainer at the academic gym,” with concrete advice on how to handle the many challenges facing today’s law students. There are dozens of self-assessments, tools to help you face very real challenges on every level, and to organize and prepare to pass the bar exam. The book includes trustworthy advice and powerful personal examples.
The Essential Rules for Bar Exam Success by
A long-time professor and bar lecturer, Prof. Friedland has spent years assisting bar takers in Florida and other states, including many who failed the exam multiple times. In the process, he devised a method for teaching students to pass the bar that is easy to learn and implement. It is this method he and Mr. Shapiro share with you in this book. You will learn how to: - Dissect any Multistate question, - Study actively rather than passively, - Think, read, and write critically, - Make the most of the weeks before the Bar, - Prepare, attack, and even endure the bar exam on test day, - Cope with pressure, and - Choose study partners that will help, not hinder, your studying. Rely on the experts and learn the essential rules for Bar Exam success so you can pass the first time.
Exam Pro Bar Prep Workbook by
Based on the premises that the bar exam essay is often different in style, length, and scoring from the law school exam essay and that organization and issue identification can best be achieved by a structured, strategic approach rather than by winging it, this book uses frameworks as a guide to writing a top-notch essay. The opportunity to practice techniques allows students to further improve their writing.
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam by
The Zen of Passing the Bar Exam offers a comprehensive approach to studying for (and passing) the bar exam, drawing a parallel between how one should approach the bar exam, and how Zen principles teach one to approach life. In addition to offering a comprehensive approach to studying for the bar exam, the book also offers specific, practical advice for doing well on both the essay and MBE portions of the bar exam. The book outlines specific organizational/formatting tips for how to write effective (and efficient) essays under bar exam time constraints.
This blog offers strategies and suggestions for optimizing your bar exam study time.
